Connect with us

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023

South Africa Vs Australia Match Highlights: De Kock’s Century and Rabada’s Firepower South Africa Soars to Victory

De Kock’s Century and Rabada’s Firepower South Africa Soars to Victory



south africa vs Australia, Quinton de Kock

ICC Men’s Cricket ODI World Cup 2023 South Africa vs Australia, Match No. 10

  • Date: Thursday, October 12, 2023
  • Toss: Australia won the toss and opted to bowl
  • Time: 2:00 PM
  • Venue: Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium, Lucknow
  • Umpires: Joel Wilson, Richard Illingworth
  • Third Umpire: Richard Kettleborough
  • Match Referee: Javagal Srinath

South Africa won by 134 runs, against Australia

Match Summary of South Africa vs Australia World Cup 2023

It’s rare to see in the history of the ICC World Cup that Australia, five-time World Cup champions, was defeated badly in the game. But that’s exactly what happened today. South Africa had a memorable day, winning their second consecutive match in a row of this tournament. They batted exceptionally well, scoring 311 runs on the board on this challenging pitch. Quinton de Kock was the star of the eve, he scored his second century in a row, putting Australia under constant pressure, and secured a commendable victory over Australia in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023. This win was a blow to Australia’s team as they lost their second consecutive match, with their openers failing to make significant contributions in both games.

Australia made things even tougher for themselves by dropping not one, not two but seven catches in the match. with the new ball swinging which made the opener not get going and lost early wickets 

People Also Like this Post

World Cup 2023 Team jerseys for 10 All teams participating in the tournament

Top 10 Players in ICC Men’s ODI Rankings 2023

Highlights of South Africa’s Innings:

  • South Africa posted 311 runs for the loss of 7 wickets in their 50 overs.
  • Quinton de Kock (109) was the star of their innings, scoring a century with an impressive strike rate of 102.83.
  • The team’s middle-order, including Markram (56) and Klaasen (29), also made valuable contributions.
  • The total was built on a strong, and the lower order played some cameos.

Australia’s Innings:

  • Their top-order batsmen struggled with the bat and were not able to build partnerships, with David Warner (13) and Steven Smith (19) being the scorers.
  • The Australian openers just lost their tone and were setback.
  • Kagiso Rabada (3 wickets) and Keshav Maharaj (2 wickets) were the key bowlers for South Africa, leading the charge in restricting Australia to a low total.
  • Australia fell short of reaching the target as they were bowled out for 177 runs in 40.5 overs.

Match Analysis:

  • South Africa’s performance was excellent, with both bat and ball making significant contributions. De Kock’s century set the tone for their innings, while Rabada’s effective bowling dismantled the Australian batting order.
  • Australia’s batting struggles continued as their openers failed to build partnerships resulting in a difficult run chase.
  • South Africa’s convincing victory with their full strength as a well-balanced team, capable of competing at the highest level.
  • Kagiso Rabada was the standout bowler for South Africa, taking 3 crucial wickets, while Quinton de Kock’s century was the highlight of the match.

South Africa’s Best Performers:

Best Batsman: Quinton de Kock played an outstanding innings, scoring 109 runs in 106 balls at a remarkable strike rate of 102.83. His century set the foundation for South Africa’s total of 311.

Best Bowler: Kagiso Rabada was the standout bowler for South Africa. He took 3 crucial wickets, including key dismissals, which included removing David Warner early in the innings and causing significant damage to the Australian batting order.

Australia’s Best Performers:

Best Batsman: Marnus Labuschagne was the top scorer for Australia, contributing 46 runs off 74 balls. Although he couldn’t convert it into a bigger score, his effort was crucial in a challenging run chase.

Best Bowler: Mitchell Starc delivered a notable performance with the ball for Australia, picking up 2 wickets. His bowling was critical in pegging back South Africa’s middle order and restricting them to a total of 311.

These standout performances by de Kock and Rabada for South Africa and Labuschagne and Starc for Australia were key factors in shaping the match’s outcome. South Africa’s dominant win showcased a solid all-around performance, while Australia faced challenges, particularly with their batting, and need to regroup for their upcoming matches in the tournament.

Result: South Africa won the match by 134 runs.

South Africa Innings scorecard: 311/7 (50 Overs)

Batter (Wicket Taken By)RB4s6sSR
de Kock (b Maxwell)10910685102.83
Bavuma (c, b Maxwell)35552063.64
van der Dussen (sub, b Zampa)26302086.67
Markram (c Hazlewood, b Cummins)564412127.27
Klaasen (b Hazlewood)292731107.41
Miller (b Starc)171311130.77
Marco Jansen (b Warner)262231118.18
Rabada (Not out)01000.00
Maharaj (Not out)02000.00

Extras: 13 (b 4, lb 2, w 7)

Powerplays: Overs: 0.1-10 Runs 53

Fall of Wickets:

Bavuma: 108-1 (19.4)

van der Dussen: 158-2 (28.3)

de Kock: 197-3 (34.5)

Markram: 263-4 (43.1)

Klaasen: 267-5 (44.1)

Marco Jansen: 310-6 (49.1)

Miller: 311-7 (49.4)

Bowling Figures:

BowlerOversMaidensRunsWicketsEconomy Rate
Cummins (c)907117.89
Mitchell Marsh1006006.00

Australia Innings scorecard: 177/10 (40.5 Overs)

Batsman (Dismissal)RunsBalls4s6sStrike Rate
Mitchell Marsh (c Bavuma b Marco Jansen)7150046.67
David Warner (c van der Dussen b Lungi Ngidi)13272048.15
Steven Smith (lbw b Rabada)191630118.75
Marnus Labuschagne (c Bavuma b Maharaj)46743062.16
Josh Inglis (wk) (b Rabada)5410125.00
Glenn Maxwell (c and b Maharaj)3170017.65
Marcus Stoinis (c de Kock b Rabada)5410125.00
Mitchell Starc (c de Kock b Marco Jansen)27513052.94
Pat Cummins (c Miller b Shamsi)222140104.76
Adam Zampa (not out)11160068.75
Josh Hazlewood (c Rabada b Shamsi)2200100.00

Extras: 17 (b 0, lb 4, w 11, nb 2, p 0)

Powerplay: Overs 0.1-10: Runs 50

Fall of Wickets:

Mitchell Marsh: 27-1 (5.5)

David Warner: 27-2 (6.6)

Steven Smith: 50-3 (9.5)

Josh Inglis: 56-4 (11.1)

Glenn Maxwell: 65-5 (16.1)

Marcus Stoinis: 70-6 (17.2)

Mitchell Starc: 139-7 (33.3)

Marnus Labuschagne: 143-8 (34.4)

Pat Cummins: 175-9 (40.3)

Josh Hazlewood: 177-10 (40.5)

Bowling Figures:

BowlerOversMaidensRunsWicketsEconomy Rate
Lungi Ngidi821812.20
Marco Jansen705427.71
Kagiso Rabada813334.13
Keshav Maharaj1003023.00
Tabraiz Shamsi7.503824.86

Australia Squad:

Playing XI: David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Steven Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Josh Inglis (wk), Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Pat Cummins (c), Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood

Bench: Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Sean Abbott, Travis Head

Support Staff: Andrew McDonald, Andre Borovec, Daniel Vettori, Michael Di Venuto, Andy Flower

South Africa Squad:

Playing XI: Quinton de Kock (wk), Temba Bavuma (c), Rassie van der Dussen, Aiden Markram, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Marco Jansen, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi

Bench: Gerald Coetzee, Lizaad Williams, Reeza Hendricks, Andile Phehlukwayo

South Africa: Rob Walter, Jean-Paul Duminy, Rory Kleinveldt

Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial